๐Ÿน Vikombe za Wageni

A (S) Korean love affair.

Weโ€™re doing things a little differently on here today. 1st, Iโ€™m writing this just as I plan to send it out, which is highly uncharacteristic of this publication and makes my obsessive brain a little uncomfortable.

Letโ€™s just hope I donโ€™t realize a correction after the post is live because if thereโ€™s something worse than sending a late Kessentials, itโ€™s sending a Kessentials that has used โ€œfollowโ€ instead of โ€œpursue.โ€

2nd, we have our first guest writer today. ๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ

For about seven years, she's been one of my best and most reliable friends, and I love her to bits. She was kind enough to write a little something about her passion for everything Korean. I hope you find it as refreshing and entertaining as I did.

As a note, I will be featuring one guest writer a week. If youโ€™d like to showcase your unique pen(wo)manship, please reply to this email, DM me via our Instagram, or shoot me a text if you sit in the queenโ€™s courts.

Hi, ์•ˆ๋…•ํ•˜์„ธ์š”,

Let's take a break from your usual witty and creative director Hope and read a few words from a valued and secretive source instead.

You know those kids who:

  • never got into trouble in school,

  • had occasional trauma but was still fit enough to excel,

  • single yet loaded with wise counsel on relationships,

  • annoying yet quirky, and, above all,

  • the teacher's pet you found in all the classes you were taking and always had their earphones in?

Yep! That's me to a T. I'm Silvia to those who know me and Leah to those who don't. I'm the above-average bitch with a secluded social life, excellent coping skills, a charming personality, and the main character of this century, at least in my world.

Ron Ogden Roommate/Tenor

You may wonder how a sweet person like Hope and a person like me (with a serious god complex) ever became friends, but that is a story for another day. My main pony for today is about finding your niche, your space.

You may ask, โ€œSilvia, with all your glorious talents and main character energy, how could you ever have trouble fitting in?โ€ Well, that's the problem, isn't it?

Instead of going into details of my autobiography and struggles ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‰ (a downplay, really), I shall cut to the last chapter of volume 1 of the life of Silvia the Black Queen.

As I attempted to find my perfect fit, I landed on South Korea, a peninsula in the Far East between China and Japan. Geography, look at me now!! First year, second sem, I found myself in the Korean language institute, and I took to it like fish to water. I'm basically Korean with black skin.

Don't ask me how or why Korea because I have no idea at all. It must have happened between the numerous seductive K-dramas with hot 41-year-olds that make me believe in being a sugar baby and the overstimulating K-pop music videos that have often contributed to my lack of sleep. (I'm absolutely off the hinges).

I'm a literal human Korean encyclopedia. Now, I stand out in a manner that no longer degrades me: my niche, safe space, and home.

Tom and Jerry/Love Heart Eyes via Tenor

It's soo surprising how a single K-pop music video has led me to this point where I'm preparing to study in Korea. I never thought I would have those magnanimous dreams that keep me awake at night until now, a goal that drives me night and day.

Honestly, there are no words to explain my experience. That's how profound it is, and I'm glad I allowed myself to find the right place to plant my roots. I have been exposed to a world beyond my scope, and that world truly makes me feel alive.

To those who have become new fans of moiiii, get in line because there's more where that came from.

Have the day you deserve.

๊ฐ์‚ฌํ•ฉ๋‹ˆ๋‹ค.

ํ•˜์ƒ ๊ธฐ์–ตํ•ด์š”, ๋„ˆ๋ฅผ ๋„ˆ์˜ ํ–‰๋ณต์„

๋„ˆ๋ฅผ ๋„ˆ์˜ ์‚ฌ๋ž‘

๋„ˆ๋ฅผ ๋„ˆ์˜ ์ฒซ ๊ทธ๋ฆฌ๊ณ  ๋งˆ์ง€๋ง‰ ํŒฌ์ด์•ผ

์šฐ๋ฆฌ๊ฐ€ ํ•œ ์ธ์ƒˆ์„ ์žˆ์–ด์š”.. ๋‘๋ ค์šด ํ•˜์ง€๋งˆ, ๊ฑฐ์นจ์—†์ด ๊ฑธ์–ด

For the translation, Google is your friend!

Deuces,

Silvia Leah on Kessentials.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Kessentials to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Join the conversation

or to participate.